Senior Discounts… At My Age?!?

“Every new adjustment is a crisis in self-esteem.” Eric Hoffer

A Nony Mouse GirlOMG! OMG! OMG!  I qualify for senior citizen discounts!!!  I never thought of that before!  It just never occurred to me I was THAT old!  It is truly the end of the world!!

Crluc1

Outwardly, I have been bravely admitting to the fact that I am now old – make that middle-aged – but inwardly, I’ve always thought: I’m still pretty young (hey, we all need to lie to ourselves).  But now, heaven help me, I know that I am an officially labeled senior citizen!!!  It’s being blind-sided with news like this that makes a person’s hair go completely white overnight!  Oh, woe is me!  I am sooooo depressed – apart from my normal menopausal depression!  Now I am doubly depressed!

Wait, wait, think positive… (this may take awhile)

…OK, I’m there…

0. cs – of course I want a discount!  Of course I want to save money!  What was I thinking?  I can’t believe I’ve lost 5 years of discounts already!  If only someone had dropped this bombshell on me sooner (yeah, right)!  There’s restaurant discounts, travel discounts, retail store discounts, grocery discounts, entertainment discounts – I just have to get past that age thing, that s-e-n-i-o-r discount…

Well, let’s see what money-saving discounts I’m eligible for – hmmm, Banana Republic offers 10% discount everyday for ‘seniors’ over 50.  Seriously, does anyone over fifty really shop at Banana Republic?

What else is there… 10% off at Arby’s, Chick-Fil-A, Chili’s, IHOP, Wendy’s – oooh, up to 20% off at Jack-In-The-Box! 10% off at Kroger and Albertson’s (various days)… ditto savings at Hallmark, Ross, Dress Barn… Best Western, Budget & Dollar rental cars… well, there’s not a whole lot available for me, and even less that I would actually use, but I guess beggars can’t be choosers (I’ll have to check out that 20% at Jack-In-The-Box – I love their breakfast croissants).

Actually, I just need to start asking everywhere if they offer some sort of senior discount – I’m sure there are some businesses around here that might that I didn’t see listed on the website I checked out.  Never hurts to ask.  It might also be a bit of an ego boost if some say I don’t look old enough for a senior citizen discount.  (*sigh*)  Alright, I guess I do have my rose-colored glasses on.

OK, I think I’m over the shock now.  That was quite a revelation.  Yes, I’ve adjusted (cough, *liar*!).

Whatever.  I’m sure there are a lot of middle-aged women who would rather cut off their arm than admit they are in their fifties, and willingly (or unwillingly) give up those sweet discounts, but me, I’m not proud – bring them on!  The more the merrier!  Still, it sure is hard to get past that s-e-n-i-o-r thing… wait, I’ve got it – could you make that senora discount, por favor?  Perfect.

ct3

for complete list of senior discounts: http://www.retiredbrains.com/Discounts+For+Seniors/default.aspx

00.9

4 comments on “Senior Discounts… At My Age?!?

  1. Grndma Chris says:

    That was funny, especially the Banana Republic comment, I don’t think anything in there would fit me any way. Thanks for the laugh.

  2. Grndma Chris says:

    I hope you have a wonderful new year.

Leave a Reply

